oven baked red potatoes.

18 Aug

irish girl that i am, i love a good potato.

honestly, i’ll eat them any which way. but my favorites are baked potatoes and fries. this recipe marries the two into one delicious savory combination.

ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 3/4 tsp. basil
  • 3/4 tsp. oregano
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 4-6 small/medium unpeeled red potatoes

method:

preheat oven to 425 degrees

after cleaning, quarter each red potato into wedge size pieces. put aside in a mixing bowl.

combine butter (melted), oil, & spices together in a small bowl. stir well.

pour mixture over the potatoes wedges in the mixing bowl & toss to coat.

use tongs to place each wedge on a baking sheet, skin side down.

bake at 425 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

and…

VOILA! easy peasy perfectly seasoned potatoes. i like mine all browned and crispy.

if you’re feeling indulgent, sprinkle 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese over the wedges pre-oven baking.

this is my go-to when i’m craving something that feels like a good ol’home cooked meal. a perfect partner for steak!

6 Responses to “oven baked red potatoes.”

  1. Janet August 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I really have to have you cook for us at home sometime!!!

  2. Catherine August 19, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    OMG…Looks absolutely savory. I am making these this weekend! I, too, am a sucker for spuds of any style. Give me carbs and I am a happy girl!

    • leaner by the lake August 20, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      let me know how you like them!!! they’re a favorite of mine. have a wonderful weekend!!!

  3. Peg August 26, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Impressive. I’ve just recently looked at your Blog and must say I’m inspired and impressed. But…having to do with this section…I seem to remember a time when you didn’t know how to open a can of biscuits! lol…you’ve come a long way. Keep up the great work, and hope you’re enjoying London. I’m definitely jealous!

    • leaner by the lake August 26, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      oh goodness, i know! my mother reminds me of this fact ALL the time. i actually own a cookbook titled ‘how to boil water’. but over the past year i’ve come a long way in domestic activites. it was about time to pick up my big girl game.

      thanks for your time to read the blog! it’s my little pet project that’s been keeping me sane when work is feeling overwhelming. you know how i get all worked up :) i’m glad you’re enjoying the content. writing and posting my findings has been a really nice journey thus far.

      i’ll keep posting pics from london. you can live vicariously! you guys should visit if you haven’t been. it’s really nice. but i wouldn’t come in august (its all rainy here). july would be much nicer wearther, i think.

      have a wonderful weekend! i’m off to our office party!

Leave a Reply

