conversation with little ladies.

16 Aug

{my super awesome pool party birthday. i love how all the personalities shine through in this pic}

cup of jo, one of my most favorite blogs, recently posted about a captivating article she read on how to talk to little girls. specifically, how to have conversations with little girls based around their interests, rather than the cuteness of their outfits or appearance.

i came back to this article multiple times after reading it. our perceptions of ourself, our best features, our confidence, and our characters are formed from a very young age. this piece really hit home for me as i’m one to excitedly compliment on dresses, shoes, & cute headbands. little girls are always the cutest–oh how i envy their bright colored bows and jelly shoes.

admittedly, my exposure to little ones is sparse, but i’m putting this in my back pocket. because one day, i’m going to be the cool aunt who has all the neat stories and the best treats, and i’ll remember to spark conversation with little ladies around their interests and thoughts rather than their appearance.

i’d love to hear your thoughts on the article!

{ps. can you spot yours truly in the picture?}

10 Responses to “conversation with little ladies.”

  1. Toni Sheposh Sheffield August 16, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Loved this, and loved the Lisa Bloom article….in fact, I shared it on my Wall. I have heard little girls, first & second grade little girls, talk about how they “need to go on a diet” and that they are “fat” and it breaks my heart. I have also heard girls this age, and a bit older, judging others for the way they dress, what their hair looks like, etc. It’s really sad. I, too, will need to hold myself back from telling someone how cute they are (because let’s face it, what little girl ISN’T cute?) and instead engage in conversation.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and Lisa’s!

    • leaner by the lake August 16, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      i’m happy to hear that the article touched you! i too really reflected on the content and underlying implications of how we interact with little ones. thanks for reading and for sharing!

    • Toni Sheposh Sheffield August 16, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      And by the way…..I totally remember that little girl in the front in the purple suit! Where have the years gone? And….being nostalgic is good…means you are a grown and thoughtful woman! It’s been a pleasure to watch you grow up! ;o)

  2. Catherine August 16, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Come on, who else could pull off that seashell swimsuit? That’s gotta be you, front and center! I love this article — so so true! Your blog is a great balance of entertainment, humor, lighthearted topics, sentimentality, and learning. It really brightens my day to read it! I miss you!

    • leaner by the lake August 16, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      man, if i could find that swimsuit in leaner size i would absolutely wear it with pride. thanks for your comments on the article, and my blog for that matter. I’m so happy to hear that you’re enjoying the content–i’m always open for suggestions as well. And guest posts!!! I’d love to feature some cjacques commentary if you’re up for it some time.

      ps. i miss you too!!!

  3. Marie Nizienski August 16, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I remember that purple suit (or as Julie would say “p-u-r-p-l-e”.

    I always enjoy reading your blog when I find a spare moment in my day. Thanks for the memory.

    • leaner by the lake August 16, 2011 at 11:39 am #

      marie! i’m so excited to hear from you and really flattered that you’re taking time out of your day to read the blog. it’s been really fun to put together. i never realized how nostalgic i am! when i first found this pic (courtesy of jan mulloy) i immediately zoomed in on you and katie!! SO ADORABLE.

      my best to you and your family. hope to run into you soon!

    • Janet Mulloy August 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      You have blossomed in so many areas in the last few years! Very proud of some of these posts from a mom point of few =) I mention in a very off handed way, and you know why I mention it lol-your hair could use a curling iron ha ha!!

      • leaner by the lake August 16, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

        awww thanks!!! wonderful to hear that you’re reading and approving :) gotta give you credit for getting me that awesome swimsuit.

Leave a Reply

