quarter-century birthday!

26 Jul

today is my 25th birthday!!

i’m very enthused about my quarter-century birthweek.

yup, you heard right. around here we celebrate birthweek. can’t hate that.

my friends and the boy have helped me plan a barrage of events to take special advantage of my mid-summer birthday. it’s the perfect excuse to check off restaurants from our chicago bucket list.

{tuesday dinner at basil leaf cafe.}

{followed by a movie date–Midnight in Paris!}

{friday: dinner with the boy at Hearty Boys in lakeview}

{followed by the gatekeeper & pictureplane show at the empty bottle}

{saturday: dinner party at Las Palmas in bucktown. to be followed with lots of dancing!}

how do you celebrate your birthday?

back when i was little my mom threw my sister and i elaborate themed birthday parties. it was simply the best. she’d always have the coolest games planned with the best goody bags. looking back now i realize that countless hours and planning went into coordinating those events. i’m a lucky girl to have a mom so dedicated to making my childhood so special.

BEST. MOM. EVER.

{my 1st birthday. completely attacked my cookie monster cake, which you may remember from this post}

now that i’m on my own and all grown-up(ish), birthdays are of course taking on new meaning. like drivers license renewal tests (i passed mine!). but, our little chicago family always makes a big deal out of each and every one of our friends’ birthdays. that’s something i love about the midwest. the considerate hometown nature that each of my friends has carried into their adult lives and friendships.

thanks to my friends for planning what is sure to be a great week. i love you all!

pictures to come! especially of the cake ms. carling will be baking for our work party. there’s even an outlook invite!

p.s. july, like i’ve said before, is a big month for me. it was on my birthday last year that the boy and i revealed to our friends that we’d been secretly dating! so scandalous! to our friends who may still be suffering from shock, i promise–no secrets this year.

7 Responses to “quarter-century birthday!”

  1. Elizabeth Mann July 26, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    oh lord eileen, your face on your first birthday is so priceless!! Happy Birthday my love:):) wish I was celebrating with you and and the boy!

    • leaner by the lake July 26, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      cookie monster!!! thank you for the birthday wishes!!! more redic childhood pics to come. jan sent me a whole bunch! (i have a bowl cut in all of them!)

  2. Janet Mulloy July 26, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Best blog yet =)!!!!

    Happy Birthday Leaner!

    All my love,

    Mom

    • leaner by the lake July 26, 2011 at 7:30 am #

      I knew you’d love this post :) thanks for the birthday wishes, oh and for having me!!!

  3. Catherine July 27, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    LOL glad to see you still have a birthweek. You haven’t changed a bit. Enjoy!

    • leaner by the lake July 27, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      no, mam! OMG remember the 21st–getting sloppy in northville and then lake mess. awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. thriller. « leaner by the lake - July 30, 2011

    […] i mentioned earlier this week, the boy planned LOTS of special events this week to celebrate my […]

Leave a Reply

