cta cuteness.

23 Jun

because i’m a complete spaz during any commuting situation, i somehow managed to lose my chicago public transit card last week en route home from work. god knows where i left that thing, but for a few days straight someone got free rides off of it.  i imagine them popping champagne on the 148 bus, joy riding all over the city on my dollar. you’re welcome!

while replacing the card online was a hopelessly confusing situation (example: please enter your 27 digit serial number from 3 years ago), the cta’s service via-phone was unreal. i got to a dedicated rep within 3 minutes, and better yet, this person understood and answered ALL of my poorly crafted questions about my work transit benefits coverage, deducting my replacement fee from my pre-tax income through my pay check, blah blah blah.

my new cta friend says “5 days and you’ll have a new card!” and BAM, new card!

AND IN THE MOST ADORABLE PACKAGING.

{what?!? it’s a wallet!!!}

holy moly did i think this was the cutest thing ever.

a little excessive, yes.

but hey, losing the card, which i equated to losing a limb, had come to mean paying with quarters/scamming rides when i ran out of change.  i was in the mood to throw a party at the arrival of my new plastic friend.

{adorableness.}

if you didn’t know this before,  then it’s expressly clear by now that i get great pleasure out of the smallest things. this was one of those occurrences. a little moment at the end of a very long week, making me smile when i’d been allowing myself to wallow in a sour mood.

its the little things. and i’m happy to appreciate them.

5 Responses to “cta cuteness.”

  1. Toni Sheposh Sheffield June 24, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I love this entry….and I particularly like the closing lines. So often in life, the “little” things bring us the biggest joy!

    • leaner by the lake June 26, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      thanks for taking the time to read! and yes, i’ve always paid close attention to the little things.

  2. Kelsey June 24, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Love.

  3. Catherine June 24, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    You are hilarious, Eileen! I can hear you writing this. I miss you and the way you made pretty much every story humorous. “That’s NOT chocolate.”

    • leaner by the lake June 26, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      you are too sweet! i’m glad you find the stuffs entertaining :) and yes, one day maybe a “that’s not chocolate” story will be posted. i hope not, though. haha

Leave a Reply

