sunny tunes.

10 Jun

without fail, each summer my interest in music reaches new heights. concerts are my favorite entertainment and in summer i splurge on a barrage of shows and festivals. i soak in new tunes to fill lazy afternoons spent outdoors, car rides to the family lake house, and every other ounce of available listening time.

as we walked home from work last week, my friend Beth noted “we really need a summer playlist, it’s the jump-start to the season”. Beth, I COULD NOT AGREE MORE! challenge accepted!

below is my mix for summer 2011. it’s packed with music, old and new, which scream SUMMER for me–whether it be nostalgia from summers past, a recent release, or a song that makes me want to ribbon dance in daley plaza. this is the mix that will be fueling my warm weather excitement en route to work, getting ready for the fourth of july bbq, and at my quarter-century birthday celebrations later this summer.

i hope you enjoy!

listen to the playlist via grooveshark.

  1.         go outside by cults
  2.         life magazine by cold cave
  3.         where i’m going by cut copy
  4.         cry when you get older by robyn
  5.         new theory by washed out
  6.         ice cream by battles
  7.         confetti by cold cave
  8.         excuses by the morning benders
  9.         dance away by smith westerns
  10.         hey elevator by apples in stereo
  11.         my girls by animal collective
  12.         meet me in the basement by broken social scene
  13.         modern love by the changes
  14.         moth’s wings by passion pit
  15.         afternoon speaker by the sea and cake
  16.         rill rill by sleigh bells
  17.         all around and away we go by twin sister

5 Responses to “sunny tunes.”

  1. Beth June 13, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    When I opened the playlist in Grooveshark there was a Corona ad on top. It seemed quite quite fitting. Smart Grooveshark!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. wish list. | leaner by the lake - June 20, 2011

    […] bear with me as i obsess over the season a little more. in an earlier post, i shared my favorite songs for summer listening. as you can imagine, i’ve dreamed up activities to accompany these songs–fabulous warm […]

  2. summer wish list. « leaner by the lake - June 26, 2011

    […] bear with me as i obsess over the season a little more. in an earlier post, i shared my favorite songs for summer listening. as you can imagine, i’ve dreamed up activities to accompany these songs–fabulous warm […]

  3. on repeat. « leaner by the lake - July 8, 2011

    […] Jul earlier last month i shared my favorite summer songs, an 18 track playlist packed with new-ish indie pop and electronic music that i’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

